What’s in a name

You may have noticed that I haven’t had a tangle of the week post for a couple of weeks. That’s because I’m moving to a new flat this weekend, and I just haven’t had time for tangling! I’m hoping to get back to it in April. In the meantime have a post about my shop name.

***

I find names really interesting. Where they come from, what they mean both lexically and personally, whether people like their name or not, what name they might have had. It’s just so interesting!

For example, my first name is from the Bible, and means ‘God has favoured me’. If I had been a boy I would have been called Samuel (from the same Bible story). One of my middle names is my Mum’s name, and the other is the name of a family friend so close we may as well be related. I love the stories and the ties created by all of my names.

I’m also a writer, and a good chunk of time before I start any story is spent working out the names of my characters. I find that if the name isn’t just right, the characters will not work with me.

So basically, names matter to me. A lot.

Now let me tell you a secret: Quiet Water Craft was not my first choice of shop name. In fact I took a while to be talked into it. What I really had my heart set on was ‘Bäsksele’.

Just look at it

Bäsksele

 

It’s a Swedish word that, aside from looking lovely, is chock full of meaning for me. During my gap year I spent 4 months in Sweden helping a couple of missionaries from my home church. They lived in a teeny tiny village (99 people) called Bäsksele. The people were super friendly and welcoming, I learned so much and became strong in so many ways, it was really a pivotal point in my life. So it’s a word that’s important to me.

The word itself translates roughly as ‘quiet water between two rapids’. Being an introvert and suspected Highly Sensitive Person (wow you’re learning a lot about me today!) this idea of quietness in the midst of noise and busyness appeals to me in ways I can’t even explain. Silence is my nirvana.

Last of all, it reflects the way I feel when I’m crocheting or zentangling, or just creating in general. I have a full time day job in a busy open plan office; it’s all go, all noise, all the time. After work I go home and have choir or salsa or pole dancing, shopping, and cleaning, and laundry, and cooking, and and and. Then I pick up my crochet hook or fine liner pen, and suddenly everything stops. The rapids are rushing by on either side of me, but in my wee bubble of creativity the water is quiet and calm.

I really wanted Bäsksele for my shop name. But a wee focus group of people who have never met me (so hopefully unbiased) pointed out all the problems with it:

I’m based in the UK and will probably have mainly English and American customers, so a foreign word could put some of them off.

It makes it more difficult to remember, especially as people were not sure how to pronounce it (say ‘best seller’, but replace the ‘t’ with a ‘k’. That’s close enough).

It didn’t really give an idea of what I was selling. Even when I made it ‘Bäsksele Crafts’ they weren’t buying it.

So I admitted defeat and went for a somewhat watered down version of the name I super wanted. Thus Quiet Water Craft was born.

What do you think of the two names? Does your name have an interesting story behind it? Let me know in the comments!

Hannah

xXx

13 thoughts on “What’s in a name”

  1. First off, I love how you referred to crocheting as ‘zen tangling’ (or was it one word?) Either way, that is a perfect description of it!
    Secondly, I planned on doing a similar post on my blog about my name. In short, it reflects the lifestyle that comes with having a husband in transportation and his crazy schedule, and my own tendencies to have multiple projects going at the same time in differnt mediums. All while learning a new craft and being a complete foodie. Taste of My Crazy Life , pretty accurate.

    Like

    1. I never thought of it like that, but crochet could be called zen tangling! However, zentangle is a separate thing that I use on some of my greetings cards. It’s kind of like doodling, with repeating simple patterns.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic post! It was wonderful sharing a bit of yourself and love the original name! I Love the Quiet Water Craft name too! Thank you for the pronunciation guide! I think it is beautiful and quite magical. The history of why you chose the name too! xx

    Like

  3. I like Quiet Water Craft more now that I know the story behind it. I honestly would have been intrigued by Basksele. It sounds more folksy – and I mean that in a very good way! It brings to mind visions of sipping hot chocolate with a luxuriously warm soft blanket on my lap and peeking out of the corner of the afghan would be the label with the foreign looking name and some Scandinavian type Pfaltsgraff inspired logo! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like both names. I would probably have thought that Baskele belonged to someone outside the UK, which wouldn’t make any difference for blogging purposes but might have influenced an Etsy purchase, maybe? I don’t know, I have not yet bought anything through Etsy so am not sure how it works! But Quiet Water is very appealing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

