New stitches: pic-not

I’m fully moved in to my new flat now, but unfortunately the internet is not, and earlier this week I used up my data allowance. So when the time came to crochet a picot border on my star blanket, I wasn’t able to Google ‘how to crochet picot stitch’.

But I’d read some instructions a couple of weeks ago. I didn’t actually try it out at the time, even though I’m definitely a kinaesthetic learner when it comes to crochet, but I was sure I would remember it anyway. It’s a simple enough little stitch.

I mean, my memory never lets me down…right?

Wrong (of course). The only part I remembered accurately was that a picot usually involves 3 chain stitches. So here’s what I did:

Two single crochet

Slip stitch in the next stitch

Chain 3

Slip stitch in the same stitch as before

Which I think looks quite pretty, but is not a picot stitch.

Of course I made it almost halfway round the blanket before getting some internet access at the library and discovering that I was doing it wrong.  So now I’m dithering about what to do; rip it all back and do an actual picot border, or just carry on with my pretty, made up stitch.

What do you think? Picot or pic-not? And has anyone else ever accidentally made something up? Let me know in the comments!

Hannah

xXx

8 thoughts on “New stitches: pic-not”

  1. Hehe I love the pun of pic-not! I think your made-up version looks just as nice as the traditional stitch. 🙂 I had a similar experience when adding a picot stitch to the edge of a pillow – I didn’t really know what a picot stitch was and was too lazy to look it up, so I invented something. Turned out way too ruffly, but it worked for me. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

