Yarn as a memory aid

Current WIP count: 7

The texture on my blue hat turned out less subtle than I expected, but I still like it.

20200219_192734.jpg

The purl stitches make it slower going than the previous hats, so this will probably do me another couple of weeks at choir before it’s finished.

It’s interesting (to me at least) that I seem to be learning the words to songs quicker than usual when I knit/crochet at choir.  Not sure if it’s my brain shoving the information into my memory quick so I can get on with the yarnery, or if the physical act is somehow helping the words stick.

 

I’ve also been working on the boyfriend’s fingerless gloves and for this project the yarn is giving me fairly random stripes.

20200219_192658.jpg

I can see why socks are so addictive; the small circumference means I’m whizzing through these! Maybe I’ll tackle socks next. Although I do quite fancy a pair of gloves for myself now I know how quick they are. Would it be too cutesy for us to have matching fingerless gloves, do you think?

Hannah

xXx

24 thoughts on “Yarn as a memory aid”

  1. Matchy matchy is never a bad thing! lol

    So I knit a sock yesterday. Flew through it! My 2nd whole project of the day. *sigh* I told my husband it’s a learning lesson. It’s so big (width) that it looks funny and would fit over my shoes! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The length is the easy part! 🙂 I should pick my needles back up and re-do the one I made the other day. I did something wrong and it’s wide like a clown shoe! lol I didn’t check my guage. *sigh* Been knitting nearly 40 years and I still refuse to check my guage! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Liking the hat. Memory aid? I was giggling when I read that! I have only ever made one pair or socklets (though I knit loads of other stuff constantly of course!). My one memory of the socklets is that once I finished one I remembered I had to do a whole other one!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I definitely find that doing a physical activity helps me learn something faster! When I was getting my certification for my job, I would walk around my apartment reading the study guides aloud to help me memorize the information faster.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment