ICHF Christmas craft show 2019

A few weeks ago my Mum came up under the guise of visiting her favourite daughter (so I keep telling myself), but really to go to the ICHF Christmas Craft Show at the SECC. Of course she bought a ticket for me as well, because she is the best Mum in the world.

c700x420.jpg

I did try to get some photos as we went around, but my camera + the odd lighting in the SECC means that none of them are worth using up my WordPress media allowance for. So, you’ll have to use your imagination for a few minutes.

The Craft Show is an annual event, but Mum and I don’t make it every year. I remember last time being very heavily geared toward papercraft, so much so that I was getting rather bored by the time we reached the other side of the exhibition hall, as it was all the same kind of thing.

But this year was so varied, I wish I’d started saving a little earlier so I could have splashed out on more of my hobbies! Especially patchwork; there were so many fabric stands this time, with huge rolls of beautiful fabrics, fat quarters, jelly rolls, cut-offs, and soooo much more I wish I could have bought!

There were also a few different yarn vendors, a couple of diamond art stands, and lots of beautiful pre-made jewellery to buy.

But enough typing – let’s get on to the goodies!

I knew going in that I wanted a jumper-quantity of some special yarn, anything DK or thicker because I’m not going through the Flax Light experience again any time soon. The first couple of yarn stands had pretties (obviously) but nothing that really jumped out at me. Then I spotted this pack of loveliness:

20191104_075529-1.jpg

This is Yaya 100% superwash merino wool. Super chunky, loosely spun, plain purple from a distance but close up you can see the tiny flecks of pink, blue, and red.

20191104_075557.jpg

Then I lifted that pack up and underneath it was another one almost the same colour as my Flax Light but a touch more toward the blue end of the spectrum. I wanted them both. I could not afford them both. I dithered for so long that the stall owner offered me a discount, and I looked so pleadingly at Mum that she bought one pack for my Christmas present. That was the greeny-blue pack so I don’t have photos, as I’m not allowed it until Christmas.

It’s quite a while since I made any cards, but I was still unable to resist a pack of pretty toppers.

20191104_075653.jpg

And this red card literally drew me across the aisle towards it.

20191110_153525-1.jpg

Then Mum bought some papercraft grab bags and we divvied them up between us over a latte.

20191104_075935-1.jpg

We also ordered a Stampin’ Up set, but we have to wait for that to be posted out. It’s a magical set that stamps a tartan Christmas tree! Plus the punch to go with it so you don’t have to sit and cut out however many fiddly Christmas trees. I’m super excited to try them out.

I also got some pretty ribbon, because I have an addiction.

20191104_080244-1.jpg

A little chocolate pack for my friend’s baby, who will have to get used to hardly ever receiving presents with her name on.

And there was also an unnecessarily large bag of honey and cinnamon cashews, but they didn’t last long enough to make it into a photograph.

I had such a fun day and I love everything I bought. I can’t wait to get making with all my new supplies!

Hannah

xXx